HomeProxy setup for secure internet over insecure wifi

1) On Ubuntu on my home machine which has internet connection install ssh and running

#apt-get install ssh

 

2) Have a proxy running on your home machine on port 9050(Tor or TinyHttpProxy)

 

3) On my lapi on wifi

#ssh remoteuser@maheshhome.dyndns.com -L 4343:localhost:9050

remoteuser@maheshhome.dyndns.com Password:

 

4)Configure my browser to use Socks proxy (If using Tor otherwise HTTP proxy if using TinyHTTPProxy)

Done, you I have a tunnel to my lapi to my home machine and browse securely

About wikihead

A security freak
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HomeProxy setup for secure internet over insecure wifi

  1. Li says:

    I appreciate, cause I found just what I was looking for. You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

Leave a Reply

